600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64105-1659

816-474-4240 816-421-7758 FAX marcinfo@marc.org www.marc.org

MARC Solid Waste **Management District**

Serving local governments in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray Counties and working cooperatively with Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte Counties

Executive Board

Appointed:

Louis Cummings City of Kansas City

Bob Huston Cass County

Donna Koontz Clay County

Kouri Hunter (interim) Jackson County

Daniel Erickson Platte County

Vacant Ray County

Elected:

Doug Wylie, Chair City of Parkville

Mike Mallon (interim) City of Blue Springs

Mike Jackson, Vice Chair City of Independence

Chris Bussen City of Lee's Summit

Mike Larson City of Sugar Creek

Trent Salsbury City of Raymore

David Pavlich City of Kearney

Lauran Kurtz City of Lake Lotawana

Ex Officio:

Dianna Bryant Secretary/Treasurer

Chair Janeé Hanzlick Commissioner Johnson County, Kansas

1st Vice Chair Beto Lopez Mayor Pro Tem Lee's Summit, Missouri





April 1, 2025

****OPEN MEETING NOTICE****

To: MARC Solid Waste Management District & Colleagues

From: Dianna Bryant, District Planner

MARC SWMD Management Council Meeting, Re: **MARC Boardroom** Wednesday, 04/16/25, 9:00 am - 1:00 pm: Lunch Provided

PLANNING RETREAT AGENDA

9:00 – 9:30 M 9:00- 9:10 9:10 –9:20 9:20 –9:30	anagement Council official business Recognition of members Acceptance of new appointments and board appointment Revision to SWMD By-laws
9:30 – 1:00 Planning Retreat	
9:30- 9:45	Welcome and Introductions
9:45- 9:50	Presentation of the Solid Waste Management District: Vision and Mission; Regional Plan for Recovered Materials
9:50 – 10:50	Presentations of Work Group recommendations: * Food Waste/Composting * Reuse/Repair/Repurpose * Construction/Demolition * Recycling/End Markets * Waste to Energy * Solid Waste Industry * Corporate/Zero Waste
10:50 - 11:00	Break
11:00 - 12:00	Discussion and Feedback Two breakout rooms - Lewis and Clark & Westview
12:00 - 1:00	Lunch and continued discussion in breakout rooms

2nd Vice Chair Damien Boley Smithville,

Mayor

Missouri

Treasurer Holly Grummert Councilmember Overland Park, Kansas

Secretary Dr. Bridget McCandless Councilmember Independence, Missouri

Executive Director David A. Warm