600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64105-1659

816/474-4240 816/421-7758 FAX www.marc.org

# MARC Solid Waste Management District

Serving local governments in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray Counties and working cooperatively with Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte Counties

# **Executive Board**

Appointed:

Louis Cummings City of Kansas City

**Bob Huston** Cass County

Donna Koontz Clay County

Brenda Franks Jackson County

Daniel Erickson Platte County

**Billy Gaines** Ray County

Elected:

**Doug Wylie, Chair** City of Parkville

**Cara Elbert** City of Blue Springs

Mike Jackson, Vice Chair City of Independence

Lauran Kurtz City of Lake Lotawana

Chris Bussen City of Lee's Summit

Trent Salsbury City of Raymore

Mike Larson City of Sugar Creek

David Pavlich City of Kearney

Ex Officio:

Vacant Secretary/Treasurer



Mid-America Regional Council Solid Waste Management District

August 8, 2023

# **\*\*OPEN MEETING NOTICE\*\***

**To:** MARC Solid Waste Management District & Colleagues

From: Nadja Karpilow, District Programs CoordinatorRe: MARC SWMD Management Council Meeting

Wednesday, 8/16/23, 9:00-10:30am at the MARC offices: 600 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64105

This meeting will be in hybrid format. You may email Nadja Karpilow (karpilow@marc.org) to be forwarded the information to access the virtual meeting room.

# AGENDA

# I. Illegal Dumping

# 9:00

Illegal dumping is a national public health issue, and the Kansas City region is no exception. Illegally dumped trash impacts the natural and built environment and has an adverse effect on surrounding neighbors and property values.

Mike Spady from the Northeast Kansas City Chamber of Commerce will share information on the work being done to transform four alley ways from intense illegal dumping sites to permanent clean spaces.

Nadja Karpilow of the MARC SWMD will give an overview of the district's illegal dumping initiative that began in 2020.

A discussion will follow.

# II. Closing

The next Executive Board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, September 20, 2023, from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm. The next Management Council meeting is scheduled for October 18, 2023, from 9:00 to 10:30 am. Meetings may be held virtually.

Enclosures: None.

Chair

Mayor

Missouri

Carson Ross

Blue Springs,

1st Vice Chair Janeé Hanzlick Commissioner Johnson County, Kansas 2nd Vice Chair Beto Lopez Mayor Pro Tem Lee's Summit, Missouri Treasurer Damien Boley Mayor Smithville, Missouri Secretary Holly Grummert Councilmember Overland Park, Kansas Executive Director David A. Warm

10:30



### MARC Solid Waste Management District Executive Board Members

#### Appointed Positions (Kansas City/Each County)

Louis Cummings, City of Kansas City Bob Huston, Cass County Donna Koontz, Clay County Brenda Franks, Jackson County Daniel Erickson, Platte County Billy Gaines, Ray County

#### Elected City Representatives (Over 10,000 population)

Chris Bussen, City of Lee's Summit Trent Salsbury, City of Raymore Mike Jackson, City of Independence Cara Elbert, City of Blue Springs

#### Elected City Representatives (Under 10,000 population)

David Pavlich, City of Kearney Doug Wylie, City of Parkville Mike Larson, City of Sugar Creek Lauren Kurtz, City of Lake Lotawana **Ex Officio:** 

Vacant, District Planner

#### **Management Council Representatives**

Les Whiteside, City of Archie Mike Todd, City of Grain Valley Mark Adams, City of Avondale Leonard Jones, City of Grandview Norm Larkey, City of Belton Levi Weaver, City of Greenwood Cara Elbert, City of Blue Springs Mike Pearson, City of Hardin Darrel Box, City of Buckner Mike Zaring, City of Harrisonville City of Camden Point (invited) Mike Jackson, City of Independence Bob Huston, Cass County Brenda Franks, Jackson County Vacant, Cass County Vacant, Jackson County Vacant, Clay County Vacant, City of Kansas City Donna Koontz, Clay County Michael Shaw, City of Kansas City Norma Sulzberger, Village of Claycomo Forest Decker, City of Kansas City Jeff McKee, City of Cleveland Jensen Adams, City of Kansas City City of Dearborn (invited) David Pavlich, City of Kearney Nick McKelvey, City of Drexel Lauran Kurtz, City of Lake Lotawana Shawn Harmer, City of Edgerton Tom Paul, City of Lake Tapawingo Chad Birdsong, City of Excelsior Springs Ann Dwyer Sanders, City of Lake Waukomis Village of Ferrelview (invited) Steve Besermin, City of Lake Winnebago Doug Eberle, City of Freeman Greg Taylor, City of Lawson Shannon Leslie, City of Garden City Chris Bussen, City of Lee's Summit Tim Nebergall, City of Gladstone Andy Noll, City of Liberty Frances Petty, City of Glenaire Doug Martin, City of Lone Jack

Julie Alt, City of North Kansas City Mark Fulks, City of Oak Grove Trish Wartenbee, City of Orrick Doug Wylie, City of Parkville Carl Brooks, City of Peculiar Tony Paolillo, City of Platte City Daniel Erickson, Platte County Vacant, Platte County John Smedley, City of Platte Woods John King, City of Pleasant Hill David Slater, City of Pleasant Valley Billy Gaines, Ray County Jerry Bishop, Ray County Steve Welch, City of Raymore Mike McDonough, City of Raytown Mike Wright, City of Richmond Kathy Rose, City of Riverside Damien Boley, City of Smithville Mike Larson, City of Sugar Creek Tanya Finn, City of Weatherby Lake Kent Stelljes, City of Weston George Bentley, City of Wood Heights

### **Management Council Representatives - Ex Officio**

Trent Thompson, Johnson County	Vacant, Unified Government	Vacant, City of Overland Park
Tammy Saldivar, Leavenworth County	Vacant, City of Lenexa	Caitlin Gard, City of Shawnee
Vacant, Miami County	Vacant, City of Olathe	Sheila Myers, Johnson County, Council of Mayors

Special Accommodations: Please notify the Mid-America Regional Council at (816) 474-4240 at least 48 hours in advance if you require special accommodations to attend this meeting (i.e., qualified interpreter, large print, reader, hearing assistance). We will make every effort to meet reasonable requests. MARC programs that receive federal funding may not discriminate against anyone on the basis of race, color or national origin, according to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. For more information or to obtain a Title VI Complaint Form, see <a href="http://www.marc.org/transportation/title\_vi.htm">http://www.marc.org/transportation/title\_vi.htm</a>, or call 816-474-4240.