600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64105-1659

816-474-4240 816-421-7758 FAX marcinfo@marc.org www.marc.org

MARC Solid Waste Management District

Serving local governments in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray Counties and working cooperatively with Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte Counties

Executive Board

Appointed:

Louis Cummings City of Kansas City

Bob Huston Cass County

Donna Koontz Clay County

Vacant Jackson County

Daniel Erickson Platte County

Billy Gaines Ray County

Elected:

Doug Wylie, Chair City of Parkville

Vacant City of Blue Springs

Mike Jackson, Vice Chair City of Independence

Lauran Kurtz City of Lake Lotawana

Chris Bussen City of Lee's Summit

Trent Salsbury City of Raymore

Mike Larson City of Sugar Creek

David Pavlich City of Kearney

Ex Officio:

Dianna Bryant Secretary/Treasurer

Chair Janeé Hanzlick Commissioner Johnson County, Kansas 1st Vice Chair Beto Lopez Mayor Pro Tem Lee's Summit, Missouri





October 9, 2024

****OPEN MEETING NOTICE****

To:MARC Solid Waste Management District Executive Board & AlternatesFrom:Nadja Karpilow

Re: MARC SWMD Executive Board Meeting, Wednesday, 10/16/24, 11am-1pm

This meeting will be held in a hybrid format. You may email Nadja (karpilow@marc.org) to be forwarded the information to access the ZOOM meeting room.

I. Introductions / Member Sharing

II. Approval of Meeting Summaries

- Ratification of Approval of the May 15, 2024, Executive Board Minutes
- Approval of August 21, 2024, Meeting Summary (EB)
- Approval of September 18, 2024, Meeting Summary (MC)

III. Administrative Matters

- Ratification of Annual Financial Audit from meeting on August 21, 2024.
- Ratification of Small Project Assistance Funds Projects
 - Rooted and Reaching \$2,267
 - Woods Chapel United Methodist Church \$3,444
 - Heart of the City NA \$3,486
 - Magpie Reuse Collective \$2,800
 - MRC \$3,100
- Ratification of Time Extension Request ((E2023-007 Flourish)
- Ratification of Disposition of Equipment Jackson Co. Yard Waste Facility (E2014-006)
- Ratification of Financial Deobligations
- FY2025 Grant Call The Grant Review Committee will present recommendations for 2025 grant projects for executive board approval.
- Small Project Funds Request: Sleepyhead Beds; Direct Payment to Roots and Reaching
- Terms and Conditions Revision
- 2025 Per-Capita Fee Approval of HHW Finance Committee per-capita fee recommendation for the 2025 Regional HHW Collection Program
- FY2025 Memorandum of Understanding Staff will request executive board approval of the district's MOU with MARC for administrative and planning services.
- FY2025 Budget & Work Plan Staff will present the 2025 district budget and work plan for executive board approval.

IV. Board Discussion

- Nominating Committee Five volunteers for a nominating committee For December elections and Grant Review Committee Members
- MRC Update
- Impact Awards Program Staff nominations
- Outreach Update Matt Riggs will provide a brief update on district outreach efforts

V. Old Business / New Business

Closing –The district's annual meeting awards, and luncheon program will be held Tuesday, December 10, 2024, from 11 am to 1:00 pm at the Kauffman Foundation Conference Center at 4801 Rockhill Road, Kansas City, MO.

Enclosures: August minutes, agenda report, grant recommendations, HHW Fees, MOU, MRC letter

2nd Vice Chair Damien Boley Mayor Smithville, Missouri Treasurer Holly Grummert Councilmember Overland Park, Kansas Secretary Dr. Bridget McCandless Councilmember Independence, Missouri Executive Director David A. Warm